OWMR Album Awards

Welcome to the 2021 One World Music Radio album awards, our 9th annual awards.


All categories are voted on by a secret panel of judges.


Below you will find the complete list of categories and nominees - winners are also shown in the list, and you can listen to the show below!

Best Acoustic Album

David Lindsay - High Wind Blue Sky

Don Latarski - The Measure of Silence

Jim Kimo West - Ka Honua Maluhia: Peaceful World - 1st

Johannes Linstead - Bohemian Strings - 2nd

John Nelson - An Open Door

Laurence Furr - Upon the Corner of the Moon - 3rd

Max Jeschek - Journey to the Light

Michael Kollwitz - Calm Waters

Peter Sterling - The Winding Way

Trevor Gordon Hall - This Beautiful Chaos

Best Chill Out Album

Eleon - Café Chill - 1st

Eric Besse - Deep Sky

Joe Weineck - Morning Breeze

La Estacion Del Mar - Unno

Michael L. Rogers - Energy Transformation EP

Nicholas Gunn - Sound Condition - 2nd

Rodrigo Rodriguez - Ambientalism EP

Scott Lawlor - Awaken In Dreams

The Great Northern – Nocturnes - 3rd

Best Contemporary Instrumental Album

Aleksandra Takala - In My Own Time

Bill Freas - Yellowstone Lake

Holland Phillips - Eleven After Midnight

Jill Haley - Wrapped in Light - 2nd

Josefine & Trine Opsahl - The Infinite Between Us

MeTrónomoS - The Celts

Sensitive Chaos - Closer to Home - 3rd

Steve Orchard - Enchanted Autumn

Timothy Wenzel - Dusk to Diamonds - 1st

Tom Caufield - Arrive and Disappear

Best Flute Album

Dennis Laughlin - Inner Tranquility

Diane Wheeler Dunn - Quiet Beauty - 1st

Douglas Blue Feather - Time For Healing

Jan Michael Looking Wolf - Earth Tribe - 2nd

Joe Yeatman - Together Alone

Jonny Lipford - Balance

Ken Talaga - Spirit Voice

Lazypixel & Silvia Blaser - Spirits

Rodrigo Rodriguez - Blowing Zen - 3rd

Sherry Finzer - Renewal

Best Neo Classical Album

Billy Yfantis - Cinematic Works Vol 1

Bodhiheart - Love Rules, Meditations for Cello and Piano

Charles David Denler - Portraits in Season Live - 1st

Francisco José Villaescusa - A Study on Erosion

Javier Márquez - The Shelter Point - 2nd

Kelly Andrew - Revelation

Louis Anthony deLise - A Gift of Moments - 3rd

Matias Bacoňsky - Epochal

Peter Gregson - Patina

Rooydad - Entanglement

Best Piano with Instrumentation Award

Ann Sweeten - Change is in the Wind

David J. Peña - Winds of Change

Eric Heitmann - Ascent

Juan Sánchez - Touch & Sound

Laura Sullivan - Pieces of Forever

Masako - Wanderlust - 3rd

Peter Kater - Rapture - 2nd

Rick Sparks - Bella

Timothy Crane - Halo

Wayne Bethanis - Measures of Light - 1st

Best Solo Piano Award

Antonija Pacek - Forever

Darlene Koldenhoven - The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy - 2nd

Joseph Akins - Dream World

Lynn Tredeau - A Quiet Path - 3rd

MK Sol - Night's Edge

Omar Akram - The Light Will Come

Pam Asberry - Twelvemonth - 1st

Rada Neal - Notable 9th

Ryan Marvel - Moments

Stephen Wallack - Colors

Best World Album

Apichat Pakwan - Esantronics

Arsen Petrosyan - Hokin Janapar

Bapi Das Baul - River of Happy Souls

Ciro Hurtado - Luna - 2nd

Namgar - Nayan Navaa

Omar Sosa & Seckou Keita - Suba - 1st

Rafiki Jazz - Nduggu (Dust)

Sereetsi & The Natives - I am Afrika

Thanos Stavridis - Spicy Margarita - 3rd

Belcirque - La Grande Fete

Best Ambient Album

Al Gromer Khan - Singing Back to Ziryab

Ambiente Solstice - Living Water

Chronotope Project - Gnosis -1st

City of Dawn - Nocturne

Forrest Smithson - Dieux

Liquid Mind - Liquid Mind: Musical Healthcare - 3rd

Phillip Wilkerson & Chris Russell - Dark Measures

Richard Ross - Ambientopia - 2nd

Robert Scott Thompson - Moonflower

Rudy Adrian - As Dusk Becomes Night

Best Classical Album

Brendan Mori - Meant for Two: Chamber Music by Brendan Moir - 2nd

James Michael Stevens - Piano Adajios Nos 1-12

Kerry Barnes - Classical Calm - 3rd

Laura Mosotto - We

Signum Saxophone Quartet - Echoes

Sophia Agranovich - Celebrating Beethoven - 1st



Best Electronic Album

Cloud Runner - Cloud Watch With Me

David Wright - The Lost Colony

Divine Matrix - The Heart of the Shaman

Erik Wøllo - «North Star» - 2nd

Forrest Fang - Forever Cascades

Harvey Summers - Moon - 1st

Jarguna - A Peaceful Granular Day

Jim Ottaway - Threshold of the Universe - 3rd

Keith Richie - Epica

Thierry David - Slow Motion

Best Jazz Album

Alex Bird and the Jazz Mavericks - You Are the Light and the Way

Angela Verbrugge - Love for Connoisseurs

Beth McKenna - Beyond Here - 2nd

Dimitri K. - I Am Not Yours

Fifth Element - Fifth Element - 1st

Greg Amirault - News Blues

Lisa Hilton - Transparent Sky

The Lunar Octet - Convergence

Mike Freedman - Into the Daybreak - 3rd

Peter Heckmann - Dancing Leaves

Best New Age Album

Dean and Dudley Evenson - Monet's Garden - 1st

2002 - Hummingbird - 2nd 

Andy Rogers - Waves of Sleep

C G Deuter - Song of the Last Tree

Chakuna Machi Asa - Auroral Magic - 3rd

Cheryl B. Engelhardt - A Seeker's Slumber

Diane Arkenstone - The Healing Heart

Earth Tree Healing - Gods

Michael Harrison - Seven Sacred Names

Paul Avgerinos - Peace

Best Rock Album

Big City - Testify X - 2nd

Book Of Numbers - Magick - 1st

Circus of Rock - Come One, Come All

Crazy Lixx - Street Lethal

Door 964 - C.O.T.D

Edge Of Paradise - The Unknown

Heart Line - Back In The Game

Lifesigns - Altitude - 3rd

Orions Reign - Scores Of War

Stranger Vision - Poetica

Best Vocal Album

AO Music - Kutumba

Blackmore's Night - Natures Light

Donna De Lory - Gone Beyond

Home Port - Home Port 3

Lissa Coffey & David Vito Gregoli - Song Divine: The Bhagavad Gita Rock Opera - 2nd

Natasha Hardy - Lost In Love - 1st

Patricia Patrise - Travel Freely

Paul Vens & Friends - Ode to Arthur van Schendel Concert

Shunia - Shunia

The Song Gardeners - People Passing Through - 3rd